Intention

face rock
Face Rock, Bandon OR

We all know this, right? We’ve attended workshops and read self help books on goal setting, on having a plan, being focused on a path, that sort of thing. We should, and we do, and we jot some things down and then life happens, and we get caught up in putting out fires instead of feeding the fire of passion in our hearts and souls. Maybe because I’m getting older and don’t have to worry about what I’m going to be when I grow up and maybe because I’m no longer putting all my energy into raising my kids and figuring out relationships…my options are narrowed, my time is limited, more and more I run smack dab into that reality. I no longer have the option nor the need to invent myself with career. NOW I return to soul work, not to invent but to discover all that has been patiently waiting in my being for solitude, practice, listening. Now is the time. Using this moment to make a better world becomes my intention. I need to put that intention to writing, shout it from the rooftop, chant a prayer each morning declaring my intention for this moment, for this day, for this life.

From Clarissa Pinkola Estes:  Ours is not the task of fixing the entire world all at once, but of stretching out to mend the part of the world that is within our reach. soul - in the World_2One of the most calming and powerful actions you can do to intervene in a stormy world is to stand up and show your soul. Soul on deck shines like gold in dark times. The light of the soul throws sparks, can send up flares, builds signal fires.

And a wonderful, soul exciting interview about intention is at On Being, an interview with James Doty, “The Magic Shop of the Brain“.

 

Leave a Reply

